Advanced Computing in the Age of AI | Wednesday, February 8, 2023

SNIA Announces New Leadership for 2022-2023 

SANTA CLARA, Calif., Dec. 6, 2022 – The Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA) announces its 2022-2023 Board of Directors and Technical Council members as it celebrates 25 years in the storage industry focused on advancing storage and information technology. The organization now has over 180 industry leading organizations, 2,500+ active members, and more than 50,000 IT end user and storage professionals around the world.

“The continued evolution of the Board and Technical Council with new members and company representation is a testament to the impacts that SNIA has in the industry,” said Dr. J Metz, Chair, SNIA Board of Directors. “As we look forward to the next era of storage and networking needs, we continue to see SNIA evolve the entire organization to provide ongoing support of the industry.”

“Much like the last 25 years, SNIA technical work continues to highlight SNIA’s value, impact, and awareness of market changes in the industry,” said Bill Martin, SNIA Technical Council Co-Chair. “The Technical Council is committed to driving the evolution of technical standards, architectures, and specifications while continuing to foster collaboration with other industry organizations.”

SNIA has published three new technical standards, another standard received International Standard accreditation (ISO), and five new SFF specifications this year. In 2023, SNIA will focus its technical work on the following areas:

  • Smart Data Accelerator Interface (SDXI) v1.0 became a new SNIA standard
  • Computational storage will continue with expansion of the Computational Storage API and the Computational Storage Architecture and Programming Model toward new released versions
  • DNA data storage, through the DNA Data Storage Alliance Technology Affiliate
  • SNIA Swordfish will continue to develop enhancements
  • Continued work on the SNIA Emerald program and Storage Device Level Power Efficiency Measurement (SDLPEM) activities

Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

  • Chair: Dr. J Metz, AMD
  • Vice Chair: Richelle Ahlvers, Intel Corporation
  • Secretary: Chris Lionetti, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Treasurer: Sue Amarin
  • Member: Scott Shadley, Solidigm Technology
  • Chair Emeritus: Wayne Adams, Industry Consultant

Board Members:

  • Peter Corbett, Dell Technologies
  • John Geldman, KIOXIA Corporation
  • Roger Hathorn, IBM
  • Jonathan Hinkle, Micron
  • Dave Landsman, Western Digital, Inc.
  • Chris Lueth, NetApp
  • David McIntyre, Samsung Corporation

Technical Council

  • Co-Chair: Mark Carlson, KIOXIA Corporation
  • Co-Chair: Bill Martin, Samsung Corporation

Technical Council Members:

  • Curtis Ballard, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Stephen Bates, Eideticom
  • Alan Bumgarner, Solidigm Technology
  • Anthony Constantine, Intel Corporation
  • Shyam Iyer, Dell Technologies
  • Glenn Jaquette, IBM
  • Fred Knight, NetApp
  • Dave Peterson, Broadcom, Inc.
  • Leah Schoeb, AMD

Learn more about the SNIA Board of Directors and SNIA Technical Council.

About SNIA

The Storage Networking Industry Association is a not-for-profit global organization of member companies spanning the storage market. As a recognized and trusted authority for storage leadership, standards, and technology expertise worldwide, SNIA’s mission is to lead the storage industry in developing and promoting vendor-neutral architectures, standards, and educational services that facilitate the efficient management, movement, and security of information.

Source: SNIA

About the author: Tiffany Trader

With over a decade’s experience covering the HPC space, Tiffany Trader is one of the preeminent voices reporting on advanced scale computing today.

Add a Comment